╠ĎĐ

3. Company's position inátheámobile communications market

3. Company's position in the 
mobile communications market

As

of December 31, 2010, MTS OJSC held licenses for 82 regions of the Russian Federation. Subsidiaries of MTS OJSC in the CIS operate in Ukraine (Pr JSC MTS UKRAINE), the Republic of Uzbekistan (Foreign Enterprise UZDUNROBITA LLC), Turkmenistan (Corporation Barash Communications Technologies, Inc.), the Republic of Armenia (K-Telecom CJSC) and the Republic of Belarus (MTS Joint LLC). MTS has a licensed area that encompasses over 230 million.

In Russia mobile services are provided by the three federal operators — MTS OJSC, Megafon OJSC and Vympelcom OJSC as well as several dozens smaller regional telecom companies using different cellular communications standards: GSM, NMT 450 and CDMA–1x, UMITS (3G). According to AC&M, as of December 31, 2010, wireless penetration in Russia reached 151.0%, and the total number of customers reached 219,3 million. By the number of customers MTS OJSC holds the leading position in Russia with a 32.6% market share, Megafon OJSC and Vymplecom OJSC market shares total 25.8% and 23.7% accordingly. MTS OJSC and its subsidiaries and affiliated companies in Russia collectively had 71.4 million customers as of December 31, 2010.

By the end of Q4, 2010 MTS OJSC's licenses covered 82 of the 83 regions in the Russian Federation. Thus, MTS OJSC directly or through its subsidiaries holds licenses for practically all of the Russian Federation territory, with the exception of the Penza Region. Megafon OJSC holds licenses for all 83 subjects of the Russian Federation, Vympelcom OJSC holds licenses for 76 regions. All three federal operators hold 3G licenses for the entire Russian Federation.

Russia's largest markets of mobile services (by the number of customers) are Moscow and the Moscow Region and St. Petersburg and the Leningrad Region. According to AC&M, wireless penetration in Moscow and the Moscow Region was 201.1% at December 31, 2010. The total number of customers of all operators in Moscow and the Moscow Region is estimated at 32.4 million, with the share of MTS OJSC reaching 38.6%.

Wireless penetration in St. Petersburg and the Leningrad Region, according to AC&M, was 203.3%, at December 31, 2010 with total customers number of 12.9 mln. MTS market share is at 31.0%.

The most important regional market (apart from Moscow and St. Petersburg) is the Krasnodar Territory (including the Republic of Adygeya), where the number of mobile subscribers at December 31, 2010 as estimated by AC&M, surpassed 9,3 million and penetration was 181.4%. In addition, there are 5 regions of the Russian Federation where the number of subscribers of telecom operators exceeded 5 million: the Republic of Tatarstan, the Republic of Bashkortostan, the Samara Region, the Rostov Region, the Chelyabinsk Region, while in the Sverdlovsk Region the number of subscribers reached 6.7 million.

According to the results for Q4, 2010, the subsidiaries and affiliated companies of MTS OJSC in the CIS countries had the following numbers of customers: 18.2 million in Ukraine (Pr JSC MTS UKRAINE), 8.8 million in the Republic of Uzbekistan (Foreign Enterprise UZDONROBITA LLC), 2.4 million in Turkmenistan* (Corporation Barash Communication Technologies, Inc.), 2.1 million in the Republic of Armenia (K-Telekom CJSC), 4.7 million in the Republic of Belarus (MTS Joint LLC, which is not consolidated in the MTS Group financial statements).

* Data on the number of customers in Turkmenistan as at December 21, 2010.

МТС

3. Положение Компании<br />на рынке сотовой связи

3. Положение Компании
на рынке сотовой связи

П

о состоянию на 31 декабря 2010 года ОАО «МТС» обладала лицензиями на работу в 82 регионах Российской Федерации. Дочерние компании ОАО «МТС» в СНГ осуществляют свою деятельность на территории Украины (ПрАО «МТС УКРАИНА»), Республики Узбекистан (ИП «УЗДУНРОБИТА ООО»), Туркменистана (Корпорация «Barash Communication Technologies, Inc.»), Республики Армения (ЗАО «К-Телеком»), а также Республики Беларусь (СООО «Мобильные ТелеСистемы»). Общая численность населения лицензионной территории ОАО «МТС» составляет более 230 млн человек.

В России услуги сотовой связи оказывают три федеральных оператора: ОАО «МТС», ОАО «МегаФон» и ОАО «ВымпелКом», — а также несколько десятков менее крупных региональных телекоммуникационных компаний, работающих в различных стандартах сотовой связи: GSM, NMT 450 и CDMA —1х, UMTS (3G). По состоянию на 31 декабря 2010 года, по данным AC&M, проникновение услуг сотовой связи в России составило 151,0%, а общее число абонентов достигло 219,3 млн. При этом ОАО «МТС» занимает лидирующее положение в России по количеству абонентов и занимает долю рынка 32,6%, доли рынка ОАО «МегаФон» и ОАО «ВымпелКом» составляют 25,8% и 23,7% соответственно. Численность абонентов ОАО «МТС», а также его дочерних и зависимых обществ на территории России по состоянию на 31 декабря 2010 года составила 71,4 млн.

К концу IV квартала 2010 года лицензионный охват ОАО «МТС» достиг 82 регионов Российской Федерации из 83. Таким образом, ОАО «МТС» напрямую или через свои дочерние предприятия обладает лицензиями практически на всю территорию Российской Федерации, за исключением Пензенской области. ОАО «МегаФон» обладает лицензиями на все 83 субъекта Российской Федерации, ОАО «ВымпелКом» — на 76. Лицензией 3G на всю территорию России обладают все три федеральных оператора.

Наиболее крупными рынками услуг сотовой связи на территории Российской Федерации (по количеству абонентов) являются Москва и Московская область, а также Санкт-Петербург и Ленинградская область. В Москве и Московской области, по данным AC&M, проникновение услуг сотовой связи по состоянию на 31 декабря 2010 года составило 201,1%. Общее число абонентов всех операторов в Москве и Московской области оценивается в 34,2 млн, при этом доля ОАО «МТС» достигает 38,6%.

Проникновение услуг сотовой связи в Санкт-Петербурге и Ленинградской области, по данным AC&M, на 31 декабря 2010 года составило 203,3%, при этом общее количество абонентов составило 12,9 млн. Доля рынка ОАО «МТС» фиксируется на уровне 31,0%.

Наиболее значимым из региональных рынков (за исключением Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга) является Краснодарский край (с учетом Республики Адыгея), в котором количество абонентов сотовой связи по состоянию на 31 декабря 2010 года, по оценкам AC&M, превысило 9,3 млн, а уровень проникновения составил 181,4%. Кроме того, в пяти регионах Российской Федерации численность абонентов операторов сотовой связи превысила рубеж 5 млн: Республика Татарстан, Республика Башкортостан, Самарская область, Ростовская область, Челябинская область, а в Свердловской области достигла уровня 6,7 млн абонентов.

По итогам IV квартала 2010 года количество абонентов дочерних и зависимых компаний ОАО «МТС» в странах СНГ составило: Украина (ПрАО «МТС УКРАИНА») — 18,2 млн, Республика Узбекистан (ИП «УЗДУНРОБИТА ООО») — 8,8 млн, Туркменистан (Корпорация «Barash Communication Technologies, Inc.»)* — 2,4 млн, Республика Армения (ЗАО «К-Телеком») — 2,5 млн, Республика Беларусь (СООО «МТС», не консолидируется в финансовую отчетность группы МТС) — 4,7 млн абонентов.

* Данные по количеству абонентов в Туркменистане по состоянию на 21 декабря 2010 года.